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This is an attempt to create the smallest set of Grappling guidelines (some RAW from the manual, others from
Clint) that when combined with the rest of the system, could allow a GM to answer most any situation that
comes up in Grappling.

For the following, the character that instigates the grapple will be called the “attacker”, and the character they
are grappling will be called the “defender”.

Understanding Grappling involves knowing how the rest of the system rules interact with what Grappling is.

These first rules come from the book, but with emphasis added for the GM to keep in mind, which can help
resolve many grappling questions :

The attacker's initial roll is an opposed Fighting roll that does no damage (so Shaken cannot Wound and
damage bonuses from Edges do not apply, among other things).

The subsequent rolls (for both attacker and defender) are opposed, and not Fighting rolls (so some Edges
may not apply, among other things).

The defender can take any non-Free action(s) instead of attempting to break free.

Breaking free with a Raise lets the defender act “normally” in the same turn, which was intended to mean
without any MAP for breaking free (clarified by Clint HERE[2013], but he adds that it's up to the GM and
doesn't matter as long as it's applied to both sides).

The following points have been clarified by Clint over the years :

Grappling is a “two-handed” action for the attacker. (This has been said repeatedly by Clint in many
posts, and is probably the most important thing to know about Grappling that isn't in the book.)

Both the initial and subsequent rolls are considered to be a “grappling action”, which cannot be repeated in
any one round. (From Clint, HERE[2009]; “grappling action” is my term, used only for convenience.)
Merely maintaining the grapple does not require a roll, but is still considered a non-Free “grappling action”,
which the attacker must be able to take on their action. (Confirmed by Clint HERE[2015].) So if the attacker
starts a turn Shaken, and stays Shaken, the grapple ends immediately.

When multiple attackers are on one defender, the defender still rolls once to break free, which becomes the
TN for each attacker to oppose separately. (From Clint, HERE[2009].)

Regarding Unarmed Defender, Clint has said that it's ultimately up to the GM and doesn't matter as long as
it's applied to both sides, but the defender could be considered Unarmed even with a weapon in hand,
because he's grappled (thus unable to use it).

For a few examples of how these rules interact with the rest of the system, see HERE.
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